//
you're reading...
SOCIETY WE LIVE IN TODAY

To the Rescue!-Physical Agility Requirements for Phoenix

I investigated phoenix city in Arizona, based on what I found, the physical agility requirements for applying to the police department and fire department does differ in gender. Female applicants between ages 20 to 29 are expected to give 35 to 51 sit ups in one minute while the male applicant in the same age range are expected to  give 40 to 55 sit ups in also one minute. The same rule applies for the pushups; female applicants are expected to give 18 to 53 pushups whereas male applicants are expected to give 33 to 100 pushups.

I feel the physical agility requirements is not fair based on the gender, because it is clearly underestimating the female ability by requiring a lower physical exercise from the female and requiring more from the male. Yes, it is sexist because it is indirectly stating that this job is a typical male job and thereby passing a judgment that  females do not have the full strength to do enough pushups and sit ups. This simply implies that females have low to a zero chance of being hired in the fire and police department. 

In an emergency situation, I would not have a gender preference for an officer/fire fighter because I need someone to solve my emergency issue(s) effectively and efficiently, so I do not base it in terms of gender. I would prefer it if the job requirement is based on “may the best man win” and what I am saying is that if a female is capable of doing the job and doing it right, why should she be denied of the job?  Hence, I feel that this job preference based on gender is still reoccurring issue that can be seen in a lot of jobs, especially jobs that require higher risk intake.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “To the Rescue!-Physical Agility Requirements for Phoenix

  1. Great post, you have pointed out some first-rate details, besides I believe this is a very fantastic website.

    Posted by Colorado Ink | 01/09/2013, 5:18 am
  2. This is really a great blog and I want to visit this every day of the week.

    Posted by Carson Rhoden | 11/22/2012, 3:00 pm
  3. I simply want to mention I am all new to blogging and site-building and actually liked your blog site. Likely I’m want to bookmark your website . You amazingly have tremendous article content. With thanks for sharing your web-site.

    Posted by Andrew Corelli | 11/12/2012, 1:14 pm
  4. I just want to say I am just newbie to blogging and site-building and absolutely enjoyed you’re web page. Very likely I’m likely to bookmark your site . You absolutely have very good article content. Thanks a lot for revealing your web page.

    Posted by Burton Depaolo | 11/12/2012, 7:30 am

Leave a Reply

WHAT I’M TALKING ABOUT

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

